Award recipients

Section Menu

2018 Award Recipient

Professor Roger Byard AO PSM


ANZPAA today announced Professor Roger Byard AO PSM as the recipient of the John Harber Phillips Award for 2018. This Award celebrates excellence in forensic sciences in Australia and New Zealand. Professor Byard is a Senior Specialist Forensic Pathologist at Forensic Science South Australia and is the Professor of Pathology at The University of Adelaide. He has worked in academic forensic, paediatric forensic pathology and disaster victim identification for over three decades. Professor Byard has a special interest in sudden infant death syndrome and the mechanisms of sudden death and injury. He has been recognised for his contribution, in Australia and internationally, to preventing childhood accidents and deaths.

ANZPAA CEO Katherine Van Gurp congratulated Professor Byard on receiving the award. “The Award recognises the achievements of leaders in the forensic sciences field and the critical role they play in the community. Professor Byard’s work is committed to saving lives and preventing deaths. His reach extends across research and education, and he has developed numerous protocols particularly in the field of Sudden Infant Death Syndrome. His work has resulted in more effective and sensitive handling of cases, across Australia and internationally,” said Katherine Van Gurp. Professor Byard’s laboratory and case research has vastly improved knowledge and practice in forensic pathology and the interpretation of pathological findings in courts.

The Director of ANZPAA’s National Institute of Forensic Science, Dr Linzi Wilson-Wilde, said the award is richly deserved. “Professor Byard has undertaken considerable research and has had an immeasurable impact on the practice of forensic pathology. He is dedicated to sharing this knowledge as an academic, researcher and practitioner,” said Dr Linzi Wilson-Wilde. Professor Byard was involved in the identification of victims of the 2002 Bali bombings and the 2004 Boxing Day tsunami in Thailand for which he received the Humanitarian Overseas Medal and the Australian Federal Police (AFP) Operations Medal. He has published over 750 publications in refereed journals and authored five forensic textbooks on a variety of subjects. He was a foundation editor of Forensic Science, Medicine and Pathology and has been the Managing Editor since 2008. Professor Byard holds a number of Fellowships of Colleges in Australia, the United Kingdom, United States of America and Canada and is a Professorial Fellow at the Florey Institute of Neuroscience and Mental Health. He has been registered as an Expert with the International Criminal Court (ICC) in The Hague since 2009 and he was honoured as Officer in the Order of Australia in 2013.

Professor Byard acknowledges that it is a great honour to receive the Award as a forensic pathologist. “I think this reflects the strong bonds and collaborations that exist and can be forged between forensic pathology and science. There are absolutely no limitations to what can be achieved in this field – we are all very lucky to be working in an area with such exciting intellectual opportunities and that is so important in the community,” said Professor Byard. The John Harber Phillips Award and Medal was formally presented to Professor Roger Byard on 13 September at The Australian and New Zealand Forensic Science Society (ANZFSS) 24th International Symposium on the Forensic Sciences.


Sidebar Content

Previous Recipients

2018 Professor Roger Byard AO PSM

Media Release (PDF 342.7KB)


2016 Mr Alastair Ross AM


Media Release (PDF 111.1KB)


2014 Dr Tony Raymond AM

Media Release (PDF 219.3KB)


2012 Dr John Buckleton

Media Release (PDF 215.7KB)



2011 Professor Hilton Kobus

Media Release (PDF 223KB)


2010 Wayne Chisnall

Media Release (PDF 217.9KB)


Rate this page

  • Rate as Helpful0% Helpful votes
  • Rate as Not helpful100.00% Not helpful votes