JHP Logo

John Harber Phillips Award

In honour of the late Honourable Professor John Harber Phillips AC QC, NIFS presents this award biennially to an individual making an exceptional and long-lasting contribution to the advancement of the forensic sciences through leadership and innovative thinking. A committee comprising esteemed representatives of the forensic sciences, police, and legal communities judge the award. NIFS encourages forensic science, forensic medicine, police, and legal community peers to nominate a fellow Australian or New Zealander for the John Harber Phillips Award by completing the nomination form, which outlines nominee eligibility and award criteria, and requests information to assist in judging.

Professor Linzi Wilson-Wilde OAM

2022 Award Recipient

Linzi Wilson-Wilde

With a career spanning more than two decades, Professor Wilson-Wilde OAM has achieved numerous achievements in her career. She played an instrumental role in the development of seven Australian forensic science Standards. She then went on to chair three ISO International Standards, based on the excellent work previously undertaken by the Australian Standards committees. Professor Wilson-Wilde OAM has been involved in numerous projects across the breadth of her career that has improved knowledge and practice across Australia and New Zealand forensic sciences. Her role leading the victim identification team after the 2002 Bali bombings led to her being honoured with the Medal in the Order of Australia and she was also inducted into the Victorian Honour Roll of Women in 2014. She is highly regarded for her work overseas including advanced legislative reform and policy development where she advocates for forensic sciences globally. Her rigorous campaigning for diversity and inclusion in forensic science continues to inspire and improve culture.

Nomination Form

Nominations have closed for 2022.


John Harber Phillips

18 October 1933 – 7 August 2009

The Hon. Professor John Harber Phillips AC QC had a distinguished career in law, holding many important positions including the first Director of Public Prosecutions in Victoria, Chairman of the National Crime Authority and Chairman of the NIFS Board from 1992 until his passing. In 1998 he was awarded a Companion of the Order of Australia for services to law, law reform, literature, and visual arts. A dedicated family man, reformer, humanitarian, and staunch advocate for the establishment of NIFS, the Hon. Professor Phillips had a lifelong interest in the forensic sciences that has had a lasting impact in Australia and abroad.

Previous Award Recipients


Mr Alastair Ross AM

2016 Award Recipient

Media Release


Dr Tony Raymond AM

2014 Award Recipient

Media release


Dr John Buckleton

2012 Award Recipient

Media Release



Emeritus Professor Hilton Kobus

2011 Award Recipient

Media Release



Wayne Chisnall

2010 Award Recipient

Media Release

Rate this page

  • Rate as Helpful0% Helpful votes
  • Rate as Not helpful0% Not helpful votes