Award recipients

Section Menu

2022 Award Recipient

Professor Linzi Wilson-Wilde OAM

JHP winner  2022 - Linzi Wilson-Wilde image (large)

Professor Wilson-Wilde OAM has been awarded the John Harber Phillips Award 2022, which recognises sustained excellence in forensic science.

With a career spanning more than two decades, Professor Wilson-Wilde OAM has achieved numerous achievements in her career. She played an instrumental role in the development of seven Australian forensic science Standards. She then went on to chair three ISO International Standards, based on the excellent work previously undertaken by the Australian Standards committees.

Professor Wilson-Wilde OAM has been involved in numerous projects across the breadth of her career that has improved knowledge and practice across Australia and New Zealand forensic sciences. Her role leading the victim identification team after the 2002 Bali bombings led to her being honoured with the Medal in the Order of Australia and she was also inducted into the Victorian Honour Roll of Women in 2014.

She is highly regarded for her work overseas including advanced legislative reform and policy development where she advocates for forensic sciences globally. Her rigorous campaigning for diversity and inclusion in forensic science continues to inspire and improve culture.

ANZPAA CEO Dr Tracey Green congratulated Professor Wilson-Wilde OAM on receiving the award, “Dr Wilson-Wilde has demonstrated incredible leadership over two decades. She has led new collaborations, pushed for continuous improvement, and helped to inspire the next generation of science leaders.”

“As the first female recipient of the award, Linzi has been a strong and generous mentor across her career and has inspired more women to be involved in STEM and in leadership positions.” Says Dr Green.

The John Harber Phillips Award and Medal was formally presented to Professor Linzi Wilson-Wilde OAM on 15 September at the 25th International Symposium of the Australian and New Zealand Forensic Science Society (ANZFSS).

Sidebar Content

Previous Recipients

2022 Professor Linzi Wilson-Wilde OAM

Media Release


2018 Professor Roger Byard AO PSM

Media Release (PDF 342.7KB)


2016 Mr Alastair Ross AM

Media Release (PDF 111.1KB)

2014 Dr Tony Raymond AM

Media Release (PDF 219.3KB)


2012 Dr John Buckleton

Media Release (PDF 215.7KB)



2011 Professor Hilton Kobus

Media Release (PDF 223KB)


2010 Wayne Chisnall

Media Release (PDF 217.9KB)


Rate this page

  • Rate as Helpful0% Helpful votes
  • Rate as Not helpful100.00% Not helpful votes